The Linus Pauling Institute specializes in molecular nutrition research. We have experts on a number of different topics, including nutrition and dietary supplements. Please find direct contact information for faculty in the table below. For help in reaching institute researchers, or other experts at OSU, please contact the OSU News and Research Communications team.

Name

Areas of expertise

Contact information

Fred Stevens, PhD

Director a.i., Linus Pauling Institute 
Professor of Medicinal Chemistry, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, College of Pharmacy

Phytochemicals, xanthohumol, metabolic syndrome, vitamin C

541-737-9534

fred.stevens@oregonstate.edu

Joseph Beckman, PhD

Principal Investigator and Burgess and Elizabeth Jamieson Chair in Healthspan Research, Linus Pauling Institute
Distinguished Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics
Director, Environmental Health Sciences Center

ALS (Lou Gehrig’s disease), superoxide dismutase, motor neuron diseases, oxidative stress, copper compounds, environmental health sciences

541-737-8867

joe.beckman@oregonstate.edu

Gerd Bobe, PhD, MPH

Principal Investigator, Linus Pauling Institute
Associate Professor, Department of Animal Sciences

Colorectal cancer, cancer prevention & diet, legumes, nutritional epidemiology

541-737-1898

gerd.bobe@oregonstate.edu

Adrian Gombart, PhD

Principal Investigator, Linus Pauling Institute
Associate Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics

Vitamin D, immune function, inflammation, infectious diseases

541-737-8018

adrian.gombart@oregonstate.edu

Tory Hagen, PhD

Principal Investigator and Helen P. Rumbel Professor for Healthy Aging Research, Linus Pauling Institute
Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics

Healthy aging, biology of aging, lipoic acid, L-carnitine, antioxidants, mitochondria, vitamin requirements of older adults

541-737-5083

tory.hagen@oregonstate.edu

Emily Ho, PhD

Principal Investigator, Linus Pauling Institute
Endowed Director, Moore Family Center for Whole Grain Foods, Nutrition and Preventive Health
Professor, College of Public Health and Human Sciences

Cancer prevention & diet, antioxidants, zinc, cruciferous vegetables, whole foods, nutrition

541-737-9559

emily.ho@oregonstate.edu

Donald Jump, PhD

Principal Investigator, Linus Pauling Institute
Director, Nutrition Graduate Program, College of Public Health and Human Sciences
Professor, School of Biological and Population Health Sciences

Fish oil, omega-3 fats, non-alcoholic fatty liver disease, fat metabolism

541-737-4007

donald.jump@oregonstate.edu

 

Kathy Magnusson, PhD, DVM

Principal Investigator, Linus Pauling Institute 
Professor, Department of Biomedical Sciences, College of Veterinary Medicine

Healthy aging, memory, neuroscience

541-737-6923

kathy.magnusson@oregonstate.edu

Viviana Pérez, PhD

Principal Investigator, Linus Pauling Institute 
Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics

Healthy aging, dietary restriction, rapamycin

541-737-9551

viviana.perez@oregonstate.edu

Maret Traber, PhD

Principal Investigator and Director, Oxidative/Nitrative Stress Core Laboratory, Linus Pauling Institute 
Helen P. Rumbel Professor for Micronutrient Research, Linus Pauling Institute
Professor, College of Public Health and Human Sciences

Vitamin E, antioxidants, nutrition, obesity, metabolic syndrome, fatty liver disease, nutrient bioavailability

541-737-7977

maret.traber@oregonstate.edu

David Williams, PhD

Principal Investigator, Linus Pauling Institute 
Professor, Department of Environmental and Molecular Toxicology

Cancer prevention & diet, cruciferous vegetables, transplacental cancer prevention

541-737-3277

david.williams@oregonstate.edu

Healthy Youth Program (staffed by nutrition education experts and science teachers)

Nutrition education, school gardens, cooking with kids, classroom wellness programs, community engagement

541-737-8014

HYP@oregonstate.edu

Micronutrient Information Center (staffed by PhD nutrition scientists)

Vitamins, minerals, phytochemicals, nutrition

LPI.MIC@oregonstate.edu

Arup Indra, PhD

Adjunct Faculty, Linus Pauling Institute
Associate Professor, College of Pharmacy

Stem cell biology, inflammation, eczema, cancer biology, melanoma, drug discovery

541-737-5775

arup.indra@oregonstate.edu

Siva Kolluri, PhD

Adjunct Faculty, Linus Pauling Institute
Associate Professor of Cancer Research, Department of Environmental and Molecular Toxicology

Cancer biology, cancer drug discovery

541-737-1799

siva.kolluri@oregonstate.edu

Claudia Maier, PhD

Adjunct Faculty, Linus Pauling Institute
Professor, College of Science, Department of Chemistry

Molecular analysis, stress response, proteins

541-737-9533

claudia.maier@oregonstate.edu

Robert Tanguay, PhD

Adjunct Faculty, Linus Pauling Institute
Distinguished Professor, Department of Environmental and Molecular Toxicology
Director of the NIEHS Toxicology Training Grant

Molecular and systems toxicology, zebrafish, environmental health sciences

541-737-6514

robert.tanguay@oregonstate.edu

Balz Frei, PhD

Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics

Dietary supplements, multivitamins, heart disease & diet, inflammation, antioxidants, vitamin C balz.frei@oregonstate.edu

Alexander Michels, PhD

Clinical Research Coordinator and Communications Officer, Linus Pauling Institute

Vitamin C, clinical trials at the LPI, general information on vitamins, minerals, and phytochemicals 541-737-5085

alexander.michels@oregonstate.edu