General Contact Information

The Linus Pauling Institute specializes in molecular nutrition research. We have experts on a number of different topics, including nutrition and dietary supplements (including the use of vitamins, minerals, and botanicals).

For help in reaching institute researchers, contact the institute at: 
541-737-5075 or lpi@oregonstate.edu

For communications related contacts, please call or email Alexander Michels at:
541-737-8730 or Alexander.Michels@oregonstate.edu


Direct contact information for faculty and their areas of expertise are listed below. 

 

Name

Areas of expertise

Alexander Michels, PhD
Research Coordinator and Communications Officer
541-737-8730
alexander.michels@oregonstate.edu

Vitamin C, clinical trials, inqueries on micronutients and phytochemicals

Richard van Breemen, PhD
Principal Investigator and Director
541-737-9534
richard.vanbreemen@oregonstate.edu

Phytochemicals, natural products, botanicals, mass spectrometry

Joseph Beckman, PhD
Principal Investigator and Burgess and Elizabeth Jamieson Chair in Healthspan Research
541-737-8867
joe.beckman@oregonstate.edu

ALS (Lou Gehrig’s disease), superoxide dismutase, motor neuron diseases, oxidative/nitrative stress

Gerd Bobe, PhD, MPH
Principal Investigator
541-737-1898
gerd.bobe@oregonstate.edu 

Colorectal cancer, cancer prevention & diet, legumes, nutritional epidemiology

Adrian Gombart, PhD
Principal Investigator
541-737-8018
adrian.gombart@oregonstate.edu

Vitamin D, immune function, inflammation, infectious diseases

Melissa Haendel, PhD
Principal Investigator
541-737-5075
melissa.haendel@oregonstate.edu

Translational science

Tory Hagen, PhD
Principal Investigator and Helen P. Rumbel Professor for Healthy Aging Research
541-737-5083
tory.hagen@oregonstate.edu

Healthy aging, lipoic acid, L-carnitine, mitochondria

Emily Ho, PhD
Principal Investigator
541-737-9559
emily.ho@oregonstate.edu

Cancer prevention & diet, zinc, cruciferous vegetables, whole foods

Donald Jump, PhD
Principal Investigator
541-737-4007
donald.jump@oregonstate.edu 

Fish oil, omega-3 fats, non-alcoholic fatty liver disease, fat metabolism

Kathy Magnusson, PhD, DVM
Principal Investigator
541-737-6923
kathy.magnusson@oregonstate.edu

Healthy aging, memory, neuroscience

For other experts at OSU, please contact the OSU News and Research Communications team.

 

Name

Areas of expertise

Viviana Pérez, PhD
Principal Investigator
541-737-9551
viviana.perez@oregonstate.edu

Aging, protein homeostasis, cellular sensesence, rapamycin

Fred Stevens, PhD
Principal Investigator
541-737-9534
fred.stevens@oregonstate.edu

Phytochemicals, xanthohumol, metabolic syndrome, vitamin C

Maret Traber, PhD
Principal Investigator and Helen P. Rumbel Professor for Micronutrient Research
541-737-7977
maret.traber@oregonstate.edu

Vitamin E, nutrition, metabolic syndrome, nutrient bioavailability

David Williams, PhD
Principal Investigator
541-737-3277
david.williams@oregonstate.edu

Cancer prevention, cruciferous vegetables, transplacental models

Healthy Youth Program
Nutrition Education Outreach Program
541-737-8014
HYP@oregonstate.edu

Nutrition education, school gardens, cooking with kids, classroom wellness programs

Micronutrient Information Center
Online Information Outreach Program
LPI.MIC@oregonstate.edu

General inqueries on micronutients and phytochemicals

Arup Indra, PhD
Adjunct Faculty
541-737-5775
arup.indra@oregonstate.edu

Inflammation, skin health, melanoma, drug discovery

Siva Kolluri, PhD
Adjunct Faculty
541-737-1799
siva.kolluri@oregonstate.edu

Cancer biology, cancer drug discovery

Claudia Maier, PhD
Adjunct Faculty
541-737-9533
claudia.maier@oregonstate.edu

Molecular analysis, stress response, proteins, mass spectrometry

Robert Tanguay, PhD
Adjunct Faculty
541-737-6514
robert.tanguay@oregonstate.edu

Molecular and systems toxicology, zebrafish, environmental health sciences